Top Stories

Tinubu, other eminent Nigerians to grace Zik Annual Lecture

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu

Nigeria’s President, Bola Ahmed Tinubu is slated to be the Chief Guest of Honour in this year’s Zik Annual Lecture/Merit Award.

The event is billed to hold this Thursday at the Shehu Musa Yar’adua Centre, Abuja.

This was disclosed by the Director-General (DG) of Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe Annual Lecture/Merit Award, Chief Chineme Onyeke during a chat with journalists on Tuesday.

Also to grace the occasion is the Sultan of Sokoto, His Eminence, Alhaji Mohammad Sa’ad Abubakar III who is billed to be the Chairman of the occasion, while Zik’s wife, Professor Emeritus, Dame, Uche Azikiwe, CFR, will be the Mother of the Day according to the Director General.

Onyeke stated that the FCT Minister, Chief Nyesom Wike, who is the chief host, will declare the event open, while a former governor of Niger State, Alhaji Dr Mu’azu Babangida Aliyu (The Chief Servant) will be the Keynote Speaker.

According to him, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Sen. George Akume is also expected to be in attendance, along with a host of other prominent personalities both within and outside the country.

He noted that the Zik’s Annual Lecture/Merit Award remains a rallying point for Nigerians to x-ray the various issues bedeviling the nation and find ways of fostering unity and common understanding among Nigerians as espoused by Zik when he was alive.

“Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe, whose canvas undoubtedly traversed the entire length and breadth of the African continent, was the first among equals within the colony of our country’s founding fathers.

“Zik stood for the unity of Nigeria even against his personal interest; believing till his last breath in Nigeria as one united country, perpetual and eternal where though tribe and tongue may differ but brotherhood remains its rock-solid foundation.

“This is what we need most in the country now; men and women who will rise above self and tribal sentiment; it is a virtue this generation of leaders must imbibe for the country to move forward,” he stressed.

On the merit award, he listed the personalities to be honoured to include: FCT Minister, Nyesom Wike, Governor of Sokoto State, Alhaji Ahmad Aliyu, Chief Cletus Ibeto, businessman and employer of labour, Prof. Nnenna Oti, Vice Chancellor of Federal University of Technology, Owerri, His Royal Majesty, Matthew Opaoluwa Ogwuche, Attah of Igala, Alhaji Jimoh Rauf Badamosi, Professor Tahir Mamaman, Pastor Chibuzor of the Omega Power Ministries, among others.

“This forthcoming event promises to be a commemoration of the 119th posthumous birthday anniversary of the visionary leader’s enduring legacy,” he said.

Comment here